The Record Stache

Moonchild’s Lullaby: Folk Heroine Kim Thompsett Brings Medieval Into Modernity

Today we have the pleasure of premiering the new single ‘Moonchild’s Lullaby’ from UK-based singer-songwriter Kim Thompsett. Championing the folk scene and resurrecting musical elements from yesteryear (or century), her folk compositions are inspired by the Medieval and Baroque eras. But unlike most performers focused on the medieval or English folk, Thompsett’s compositions are beautifully original rather than covers.

A ripe and rare gem in the musical realm – not only in Britain but anywhere, Kim Thompsett’s album ‘The Hollows’ is arguably her best work to date. People get ready as this music will make you feel like you shine inside and reflect on spirits unearthed from an era long before your birth.

Thompsett’s second album ‘The Hollows’ will be released on CD, vinyl and digitally. Four years in the making, this LP explores themes that are rooted in nature, mysticism and the arcane. Credit for recording, mixing, mastering and production of this album goes to Harvey Summers, well known for his work with Sir Paul McCartney, Daniel Lanois, Moby, Steeleye Span, Pentangle, Ellie Ford, Danny Thompson (Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel, Pentangle), Hossam Ramzy (Peter Gabriel, Led Zeppelin), Cutting Crew and Divine Comedy, among others.

photo by: Bryony Whistlecraft

‘The Hollows’ is the long-awaited follow-up to ‘Songs from the Uglee Meadow’, her debut album, released in 2008. The album artwork was especially commissioned and created by Gary Williamson. In the video for ‘Moonchild’s Lullaby’, this work is magically brought to life by the prodigious skills of young animator James Wright

“We settled on the concept of bring the album artwork to life, including some of Kim’s suggestions (e.g. critters moving across the landscape, stars twinkling, and pushing snowdrops from underneath). Here, we start underground and push up through the earth into the wood. We then continue through the woods till we arrive at the burial mound,” explains James Wright.  

“Everything in the video is cut out digitally from the original artwork except the cocoon hanging in the tree and the earth at the beginning screen. I used the cutouts to create separate planes, which allowed me to create perspective and of course more trees. I also managed to animate a few features of the artwork.”

Upholding the momentum gained with her debut offering, ‘The Hollows’ evokes an archaic atmosphere and nuances of Celtic and medieval times. At the same time, it branches out into a more experimental and eclectic idiom with a more diverse range of instrumentation and more sophisticated production.  

Songs celebrating ancient connections with forest, with earth, with sky and with water – the shedding of ego and an immersion in the universe. The music itself is most reminiscent of the English folk of the ’70’s with a few other genres for good measure.

“I wanted to make an album that was primarily something I would enjoy listening to. If other people like it too, that’s great. Having come to fruition some ten years after the debut album, I wanted to ensure it was a natural progression from the previous work and that the songs were manifested in the fully-developed compositions that only the songwriter can hear during the creative process,” says Thompsett.

“Moonchild’s started with a harp tune I invented so that’s really the main theme of the song.   The words just came to suit and add some colour, mystery and starryness.  The rest of the instrumentation came from working in the studio with Harvey and Lee with Lee pretty much writing the end layered section and me overlaying a few touches of harp. So the journey of the song is not so much in a verbal narrative but a musical one.”

‘The Hollows’ album will be released via Meniscus Hump Records on May 31 and can already be pre-ordered via Bandcamp. In the meantime, her ‘Woebetide Hill’ single releases tomorrow digitally on iTunes and will also be streamable on Spotify.

1 Moonchild’s Lullaby
2 Snowbound
3 Soul Song
4 Woebetide Hill
5 Child of the Breeze
6 Strange Garden
7 Brocéliande
8 Hollow Hill
9 Hollow Tree
10 Say it with Flowers
11 Woebetide Hill (single)

Keep up with Kim Thompsett
 | Bandcamp | Soundcloud | YouTube | Twitter | Spotify | iTunes | CD Baby | Reverbnation

Leave a Reply