The Record Stache

London’s Auld Fires the Electricity on “Need Her Still” Single

With London being a hotbed for everything music over the past 60 years, our attention often veers in this direction. Today also brings great occasion for this to happen as we present you the new single from electronic collective Auld, who are based in Based in Kilburn, London. On ‘Need Her Still’, Auld brings a fresh sense combining modern pop-rock and electronica with sweeping elements of 80s romantics like Spandau Ballet and Ultravox, and more modern parallels like Arcade Fire. Definitely this song is a great starter for this album, making us eager to hear the rest when it becomes available.

Auld was started by Thomas Pitts as a solo project. They currently perform as a 6-piece, with Pitts joined by Alan Giles, Brian Wortman, Rachel Hearne, Glen Giles and James Milner.

Slated for release on Friday, January 25, this is the first single off their debut album ‘Mainstream Music’, which can be expected in mid-March. Comprised of 10 tracks, this long-play is loaded with fluid, brooding, alternative, electronic pop with guitars interwoven. While ‘Mainstream Music’ was recorded over the summer of 2018, some of the songs date back as early as 2012. This release comes hot on the trail of the Curriculum Vitae’ EP, released in April 2018.

Flexible in terms of genre, sometimes Auld frames a story through the lens of indie pop, sometimes rock, and sometimes electro. They like a good cry and they like a good dance and they want you to join them.

“Need Her Still’ is the first song I wrote for the album and hopefully a good introduction to the Auld sound. It came at a time where we were searching for direction for the album. I wrote this and then everything started to fall into place afterwards,” says Thomas Pitts. 

“This is the only love song I have ever written. Lyrically it is quite simple – it is a list of things that would make life quite nice and more enjoyable on paper, but all of these mean nothing without the person you love”.

Photo by Thomas Pitts

Thomas Pitts’ fascination with music began with an obsession over the Spice Girls at 9 years of age. He wrote songs to the tunes of their tunes and also to the tunes of songs from the Lion King. Fast forward to the appearance of the Strokes, which influenced Pitts to form a rather young band emulating that sound.

In terms of his songwriting with Auld, Pitts denotes the following as musical influences: Grimes, Kate Bush, R.E.M., Tom Waits, The National, The Pixies, Pavement, Radiohead, Arcade Fire, Interpol, Earl Sweatshirt and The Flaming Lips. “Something that also really interested me here was working with the structure of a song.”

“The overriding theme of this album is coming to terms with the person you are and realising you are not quite the person you thought you were gonna grow up to be. Reflecting on that and trying to work out how to change,” says Thomas Pitts. “Mainstream Music is a celebration of all those people trying their best, but not being the best. The ones that have a lot to improve upon, but are aware of it. It is a celebration of sadness, friends and family”.

As of March 15, the ‘Mainstream Music’ album will be available digitally across online stores and streaming platforms. It can already be pre-ordered now via Bandcamp at

1. Need Her Still
2. Am I Gorgeous?
3. Alilless
4. Trendy, Trendy
5. The Lady Killa
6. I Am
7. The Careful Ones
8. Negative Nelly
9. Nephews
10. Oh The Sea

Keep up with Auld
 | Bandcamp | Twitter | Instagram | Soundcloud | YouTube | iTunes | Spotify

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *