Wed 13 Nov
The Record Stache

Britain’s The Claim Preview ‘Boomy Tella’ LP Reissue

photo by Eugene Doyen

Today we have the pleasure of premiering two tracks off The Claim’s ‘Boomy Tella’ album – ‘Not So Simple Sharon Says’ and ‘All About Hope’. These supernova tracks from Britain’s sons offer goodness floating somewhere between The Smiths, Blur and The Chameleons, but with the sheer positivity of The Railway Children. A Turntable Friend Records will be releasing the band’s third album on both vinyl. It’s also the first time this album will be offered on CD. The album, a limited edition of 300, gets the re-mastering treatment, using the original 1/4 inch tapes.

This music is bound to cause a thrill among fans of The Jam, The Kinks, The Dentists, The Prisoners, The Jasmine Minks, The Smiths and early Blur. The latter comes as no surprise given that Blur’s first releases were indeed influenced by The Claim.

The green vinyl gatefold offers the original 10 tracks (with download code), while the 14-track CD comes as a 6-page gatefold package. The additional four tracks were unreleased demo tracks from 1988-1990 – ‘Business Boy’, ‘God Cliffe And Me’, ‘Fallen Hero’ and ‘Untitled’.

The gatefold package for both vinyl and CD includes lyrics and rare photos from their archives, as well as liner notes from the band’s guitarist David Arnold, who also played on early releases by The Jasmine Minks, the first band signed to Alan McGee’s Creation Records. The vinyl comes with a download of the 10 album tracks plus 4 bonus tracks.

The Claim were one of the major players in the thriving 80s ‘Medway Scene’ in the UK, along with such bands as The Prisoners, Thee Milkshakes, The Dentists, Wipe Out and more. This mod-influenced pop also seriously influenced on the sound of Blur‘s earliest works.

The Claim’s debut album ‘Armstrong’s Revenge and Eleven Other Short Stories’ was released in 1985, following this up the next year with ‘This Pencil Was Obviously Sharpened By a Left-Handed Indian Knife Thrower’. Their work received glowing reviews, including 8 out of 10 by Bob Stanley at the NME, as well as being played numerous times by John Peel.

Aftter signing to Kevin Pearce’s Esurient Communications in 1988, they released ‘Boomy Tella’, followed by singles ‘Wait and See‘, ‘Sunday’ and arguably their finest moment ‘Picking Up The Bitter Little Pieces’. They then released a one-off single on the Caff label, run by Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley. By 1993, the band had split.

In 2009, Cherry Red Records paid tribute to The Claim’s earlier recordings via their ‘Black Path’ compilation. This long-overdue compilation of the band’s finest work introduced a new generation to their timeless music.

Boomy Tella’ can be ordered now on CD and vinyl via A Turntable Friend Records at and digitally via Bandcamp at The Claim will be celebrating their album launch on March 23 at the 100 Club, with very special guests The Jasmine Minks and DJ Vic Templar.

1) Not So Simple Sharon Says
2) Love Letter
3) Beneath The Reach
4) All About Hope
5) Las Regas El Resoto
6) Down By The Chimney
7) Mrs Shepherd
8) Sanity Starts At Home
9) On My Way
10) Christopher
11) Business Boy (Demo) (CD and download only)
12) God Cliffe and Me (Demo) (CD and download only)
13) Fallen Hero (Demo) (CD and download only)
14) Untitled (Demo) (CD and download only)

Follow developments with The Claim
Store | Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter | Spotify | iTunes | Press contact

Discover the many excellent offerings from A Turntable Friend Records
Store | Facebook | Bandcamp | Soundcloud | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram